No subscription · Verified AUG 2026
Todoist Alternatives Without a Subscription
Own your task list. Keep your projects local. Stop paying per seat every month.
Todoist costs $5.00 a month, billed annually — $300 over five years.
How this is calculated
$5.00 a month over 60 months, minus $59.95 for the cheapest paid alternative that passed. The alternative's price is the vendor's US list price in USD, verified on the date shown in its row; Todoist's own monthly price was checked on 2026-08-29.
Break-even against Todoist: month 12.
Over three years: $180 subscribed against $59.95 bought once.
Not counted on either side: optional add-ons, extra storage hardware, paid major-version upgrades, and resale value. Your own saving depends on which alternative you pick and how long you keep it.
Where a "Buy" link below earns us a commission, the vendor pays it and the price you pay is unchanged. A commission never decides whether a product is listed and never changes a verdict.
| Product | Price | Fit | Caveat | Licence | Platforms | Updates | Export | Verified | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MyLifeOrganized Professional | $59.95 once | Direct | Not for Mac or Linux users, and not for anyone expecting the phone apps: this is the Windows licence, with iOS and Android sold separately. | One-time purchase · the purchased version never expires | Windows (iOS and Android apps sold separately at US$29.99) | Purchased version never expires; optional paid renewal unlocks new major versions | Not specified on pricing page | 2026-08-29 | Buy MyLifeOrganized Professional · Source for MyLifeOrganized Professional |
| OmniFocus 4 Standard | $74.99 once | Direct | Not for Windows, Linux or Android users: OmniFocus 4 is an Apple-only purchase across Mac, iPhone, iPad and Watch. | Perpetual licence · universal purchase across Apple devices | Mac / iPhone / iPad / Apple Watch / Apple Vision Pro | Includes all 4.x updates; future major upgrades at a discount | Not specified on pricing page | 2026-08-29 | Buy OmniFocus 4 Standard · Source for OmniFocus 4 Standard |
| Everdo Pro | $99.99 once | Direct | Not for anyone who needs to know what they can take with them: the pricing page states no export path. | One-time purchase · one licence for every platform | Windows / Mac / Linux / Android / iOS | Not specified on pricing page | Not specified on pricing page | 2026-08-29 | Buy Everdo Pro · Source for Everdo Pro |
What you give up
300 personal projects instead of 5 · Calendar layout · Task duration and deadlines · 150 filter views · Full reporting history · Task Assist AI
What you gain
One-time payment · Task database lives on your own devices · No US$5/user/month renewal · $240 saved
3 alternatives · price, licence, platforms, updates and export checked on the vendor's own pages
Checked and excluded
- Amazing Marvin — One plan only, US$8/month or US$96/year. The vendor's own FAQ answers "Is there a free plan?" with "Not currently", and says that when the trial ends "you won't be able to add or complete tasks until you subscribe." Source for Amazing Marvin (checked 2026-08-29)
- Nirvana Pro — Unlimited projects, unlimited areas and recurring to-dos are Pro-only on Nirvana's own pricing page, and Pro is sold only at US$3/month billed annually at US$36/year -- there is no one-time tier. Source for Nirvana Pro (checked 2026-08-29)