No subscription · Verified AUG 2026
Ring Solo Alternatives Without a Subscription
Keep your doorbell. Record locally instead of the cloud. Stop paying to see your porch.
Ring Solo costs $4.17 a month, billed annually — $350 over five years, including the $99.99 of hardware it requires.
How this is calculated
$4.17 a month over 60 months, plus $99.99 for the hardware Ring Solo requires, minus $59.99 for the cheapest paid alternative that passed. The alternative's price is the vendor's US list price in USD, verified on the date shown in its row; Ring Solo's own monthly and hardware prices were checked on 2026-08-29.
Ring Solo's hardware alone ($99.99) already costs more than the $59.99 alternative, so the alternative is cheaper before you pay a single month of the subscription.
Over three years: $250 subscribed against $59.99 bought once.
This figure assumes buying into the Ring Solo subscription from scratch, hardware included. If you already own the hardware, subtract $99.99 from the total above.
Not counted on either side: optional add-ons, extra storage hardware, paid major-version upgrades, and resale value. Your own saving depends on which alternative you pick and how long you keep it.
Where a "Buy" link below earns us a commission, the vendor pays it and the price you pay is unchanged. A commission never decides whether a product is listed and never changes a verdict.
| Product | Price | Fit | Caveat | Licence | Platforms | Updates | Export | Verified | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annke Whiffle Doorbell Camera | $59.99 once | Direct | Not for anyone counting on the $34.99 price: that was promotional at the time of checking, and the list price is $59.99. | Device owned · local recording no subscription · $34.99 promotional at the time of checking | iOS / Android · Works with Alexa | Not specified on product page | microSD (up to 128GB) · optional cloud storage | 2026-08-29 | Buy Annke Whiffle Doorbell Camera · Source for Annke Whiffle Doorbell Camera |
| Changed since we first checked: 2026-08-29 — license was Device owned · local recording no subscription, now Device owned · local recording no subscription · $34.99 promotional at the time of checking (our correction). Source for the Annke Whiffle Doorbell Camera change on 2026-08-29 2026-08-29 — price usd was 34.99, now 59.99 (our correction). Source for the Annke Whiffle Doorbell Camera change on 2026-08-29 | |||||||||
| Lorex 1080p Wired Video Doorbell | $79.99 once | Direct | Not for anyone who wants footage on an NVR or NAS: the Lorex records to microSD only, with no ONVIF. | Device owned · no monthly fees | Lorex Classic App (iOS/Android) · Alexa · Google Assistant | Not specified on product page | microSD (32GB included, up to 256GB) · local only, no ONVIF | 2026-08-29 | Buy Lorex 1080p Wired Video Doorbell · Source for Lorex 1080p Wired Video Doorbell |
| Night Owl 1080p Wi-Fi Video Doorbell with Chime (Wired) | $89.99 once | Direct | Not for a home without doorbell wiring: this is the wired unit, and it records to microSD or to a Night Owl recorder. | Device owned · zero monthly fees · $79.99 promotional at the time of checking | iOS / Android | Not specified on product page | microSD or hard drive (via recorder) | 2026-08-29 | Buy Night Owl 1080p Wi-Fi Video Doorbell with Chime (Wired) · Source for Night Owl 1080p Wi-Fi Video Doorbell with Chime (Wired) |
| Changed since we first checked: 2026-08-29 — license was Device owned · zero monthly fees, now Device owned · zero monthly fees · $79.99 promotional at the time of checking (our correction). Source for the Night Owl 1080p Wi-Fi Video Doorbell with Chime (Wired) change on 2026-08-29 2026-08-29 — price usd was 79.99, now 89.99 (our correction). Source for the Night Owl 1080p Wi-Fi Video Doorbell with Chime (Wired) change on 2026-08-29 | |||||||||
| TP-Link Tapo D225 | $129.99 once | Direct | Not for anyone who will not add the Tapo hub: local recording goes to a microSD card in the hub, not in the doorbell. | Device owned · free AI detection, no subscription required · $99.99 promotional at the time of checking | Tapo App (iOS/Android) · Alexa · Google Assistant | Not specified on product page | microSD on hub (up to 512GB) · optional Tapo Care cloud | 2026-08-29 | Buy TP-Link Tapo D225 · Source for TP-Link Tapo D225 |
| Changed since we first checked: 2026-08-29 — license was Device owned · free AI detection, no subscription required, now Device owned · free AI detection, no subscription required · $99.99 promotional at the time of checking (our correction). Source for the TP-Link Tapo D225 change on 2026-08-29 2026-08-29 — price usd was 99.99, now 129.99 (our correction). Source for the TP-Link Tapo D225 change on 2026-08-29 | |||||||||
| Reolink Video Doorbell WiFi | $139.99 once | Direct | Not for anyone counting on the $110.59 price: that was promotional at the time of checking, and the list price is $139.99. | Device owned · no plan required · $110.59 promotional at the time of checking | iOS / Android / Windows / Mac / Web | Firmware updates free | microSD (up to 256GB) · NVR/NAS · RTSP/ONVIF/FTP | 2026-08-29 | Buy Reolink Video Doorbell WiFi · Source for Reolink Video Doorbell WiFi |
| Changed since we first checked: 2026-08-29 — license was Device owned · no plan required, now Device owned · no plan required · $110.59 promotional at the time of checking (our correction). Source for the Reolink Video Doorbell WiFi change on 2026-08-29 2026-08-29 — price usd was 110.59, now 139.99 (our correction). Source for the Reolink Video Doorbell WiFi change on 2026-08-29 | |||||||||
| eufy Security Video Doorbell E340 | $149.99 once | Direct | Not for anyone who needs more than the 8 GB on board without also buying a HomeBase for local backup. | Device owned · no subscription required | iOS / Android | Not specified on product page | 8GB on-device storage · optional HomeBase for local backup | 2026-08-29 | Buy eufy Security Video Doorbell E340 · Source for eufy Security Video Doorbell E340 |
What you give up
180-day cloud video history · person/package/vehicle alerts · extended live view
What you gain
local recording, no monthly fee · own your footage · one-time device cost · $290 saved
6 alternatives · price, licence, platforms, updates and export checked on the vendor's own pages
Checked and excluded
- Arlo Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) — Recorded video needs a paid Arlo Secure plan once the 1-month trial ends: Arlo's FAQ says that without a subscription you keep motion notifications and the live feed, but "a subscription is required to maintain premium features like Video Cloud Storage". The doorbell stores nothing itself — its spec sheet lists Storage Type as Cloud — and local recording exists only through a separately sold SmartHub or Base Station from $99.99. Source for Arlo Video Doorbell (2nd Generation) (checked 2026-08-29)
- Google Nest Doorbell (Battery) — Without a subscription the doorbell keeps only "3 hours of event video history with clips up to 3 minutes"; the store page sells the rest as "Additional video history with Google Home Premium" — up to 60 days — which is what Google now calls the plan formerly sold as Nest Aware. Source for Google Nest Doorbell (Battery) (checked 2026-08-29)
- Wyze Video Doorbell Pro — In Wyze's compare chart at the foot of the product page the Video Doorbell Pro's Storage row reads "Cloud Only" while its three siblings read "Local & Cloud" — the microSD bullet higher up that page belongs to the newer Wyze Battery Video Doorbell it cross-sells, not to this model. Keeping event video then needs a paid plan: "Cam Plus enables the doorbell to record full-length event videos." Source for Wyze Video Doorbell Pro (checked 2026-08-29)