No subscription · Verified AUG 2026
Adobe Illustrator Alternatives Without a Subscription
Own your vector tool. Keep your artwork local. Stop paying for credits.
Adobe Illustrator costs $22.99 a month, billed monthly on an annual plan — $1379 over five years.
How this is calculated
$22.99 a month over 60 months, minus $29.99 for the cheapest paid alternative that passed. The alternative's price is the vendor's US list price in USD, verified on the date shown in its row; Adobe Illustrator's own monthly price was checked on 2026-08-29.
Break-even against Adobe Illustrator: month 2.
Over three years: $828 subscribed against $29.99 bought once.
Not counted on either side: optional add-ons, extra storage hardware, paid major-version upgrades, and resale value. Your own saving depends on which alternative you pick and how long you keep it.
Where a "Buy" link below earns us a commission, the vendor pays it and the price you pay is unchanged. A commission never decides whether a product is listed and never changes a verdict.
| Product | Price | Fit | Caveat | Licence | Platforms | Updates | Export | Verified | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amadine | $29.99 once | Direct | Not for Windows or Linux users: Amadine is a Mac purchase, and the iPad and iPhone apps are sold separately. | Single-user lifetime licence | Mac (iPad and iPhone apps sold separately) | Not specified on store page | Not specified on store page | 2026-08-29 | Buy Amadine · Source for Amadine |
| VectorStyler | $95.00 once | Direct | Not for anyone who needs a stated export list: the pricing page does not say which file formats it writes. | Single licence for lifetime · commercial use included | macOS / Windows | Free upgrades included | Not specified on pricing page | 2026-08-29 | Buy VectorStyler · Source for VectorStyler |
| Sketch (Mac-only licence) | $120.00 once | Adjacent | Not for anyone who needs the collaboration, online sharing or iOS preview that the one-time Mac licence leaves out. | One-time licence, yours to keep forever · no collaboration, online sharing or iOS preview | Mac | One year of updates included | Documents saved locally | 2026-08-29 | Buy Sketch (Mac-only licence) · Source for Sketch (Mac-only licence) |
Free alternatives
These cost nothing and are not for sale. Some install on your own machine, some you host yourself, some are vendor-run free tiers — the Platforms column says which. None of them comes with vendor support.
| Product | Price | Fit | Caveat | Licence | Platforms | Updates | Export | Verified | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inkscape | Free · not for sale | Direct | Not for anyone who needs to draw on an iPad or in a browser: Inkscape is a desktop program for Windows, macOS and Linux. | Free forever · GPL open source | Windows / macOS / Linux | Free, community-maintained | SVG · AI · EPS · PDF · PS · PNG | 2026-08-29 | Download Inkscape · Source for Inkscape |
What you give up
100GB cloud storage · 25 monthly generative credits · Illustrator on iPad and web · Adobe Express Premium with 20,000+ fonts
What you gain
One-time payment · Artwork files stay on your own disk · No US$22.99/mo renewal · $1349 saved
4 alternatives · price, licence, platforms, updates and export checked on the vendor's own pages
Checked and excluded
- CorelDRAW Graphics Suite 2026 — Corel's own purchase-option comparison marks CorelDRAW Web -- the browser-based illustration app it sells as part of the suite -- as subscription-only, leaves the one-time column blank for "Full featured", and gives the one-time buyer 2,000 generative-AI credits once against 2,000 every month for subscribers. Source for CorelDRAW Graphics Suite 2026 (checked 2026-08-29)